Monday, April 12, 2021 (All day) to Sunday, April 18, 2021 (All day)


The Monte-Carlo tournament is a men’s tennis tournament played on clay, it is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 category of events, organised by the ATP with nine tournaments which have been taking place since 1990 in Europe, North America and Asia.

The Exceptional Tennis Tournament

This is how it was that in 1897, the first tennis tournament in Monegasque history took place in the Principality. At the time, the space was called the Monaco Lawn Tennis. From the outset, the tournament included men and women in two categories.

There were open, doubles and handicap tournaments. The first years, in fact, were dominated by the Doherty brothers, two Britons who had excelled at Wimbledon.

At the advent of the Open era in 1969, professional players took part and the tournament was among the top events. Nowadays it is part of the Masters 1000. In 2007, during a re-organisation of the ATP World Tour, the status of the tournament was under threat. Supported by the players, the organisers took the ATP to court and the tournament retained its “Masters 1000”  status. Unlike other tournaments in this category, the thirty top players in the world are not required to take part, although the majority of them choose to enter.

The women’s tournament was organised in the 1960s and 1970s. Its last edition was 1982.
The Monte-Carlo Masters brings together 56 players in a straight elimination draw of six rounds. There are 16 seeds in the 56 players, the top eight having a bye in the first round. Furthermore, four players take part in the tournament by invitation (or wild card). Finally, a qualifying tournament, which takes place just before the Monte-Carlo Masters, allows seven players to join the main draw.

The matches are played to the best of three sets with a tie-break in each set. Until 2006, the final was the best of five sets.
As for the doubles tournament, it is contested by 24 teams, or 48 players, in a straight elimination tournament of five rounds. The teams include the top eight seeds who have a first-round bye. Two teams are invited by the tournament and there is no qualifying tournament. Matches are also played as the best of three sets with a tie-break in each set. Since 2006, the third set has been replaced by a super tie-break


Monte Carlo Country Club

Upcoming Events